top of page

Understanding the Stages of Grief and Loss: Navigating the Pain of Pet Loss

Losing a beloved pet can be an emotionally devastating experience, akin to losing a family member or a close friend. The grief that accompanies pet loss is often underestimated by those who haven't experienced it firsthand. To help individuals cope with this unique form of grief, it's essential to understand the stages of grief and loss as they relate to pet loss. In this article, we'll explore the stages of grief and loss in the context of pet loss, shedding light on this often-misunderstood aspect of bereavement.

1. Denial

The first stage of grief, as described by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in her seminal work "On Death and Dying," is denial. In the context of pet loss, denial may manifest as disbelief or shock. Pet owners may struggle to accept that their beloved companion is gone, and some may even experience moments of thinking they'll return. It's crucial to recognize that denial is a natural response that helps individuals gradually come to terms with the reality of their loss.

Closeup of Dog Treats

2. Anger:

After denial, many pet owners experience anger. This anger can be directed at various sources, including themselves, veterinary care, or even the pet for leaving them. Guilt often accompanies this stage, as pet owners may feel guilty for their anger. Understanding that anger is a part of the grieving process can help individuals process their emotions without added guilt.

3. Bargaining:

The bargaining stage involves a search for ways to reverse or prevent the loss. In pet loss, this might involve second-guessing decisions or wishing for more time with the pet. Individuals may find themselves replaying scenarios in their minds, wondering if they could have done something differently. This stage is marked by a sense of "what if" and "if only."

Coffee and Conversation
A girl feeling sad

4. Depression:

Depression is a common and expected stage of pet loss grief. It can manifest as deep sadness, withdrawal from activities, and even physical symptoms such as loss of appetite or sleep disturbances. This stage is a critical time for pet owners to seek support from friends, family, or professional counselors who specialize in pet loss.

5. Acceptance:

The final stage of grief is acceptance. It doesn't mean forgetting or moving on from the pet but rather coming to terms with the reality of the loss and finding a way to live with it. During this stage, individuals begin to cherish the positive memories and the love they shared with their pet while slowly rebuilding their lives.

Mountains Meet Lake

The stages of grief and loss are a natural part of the grieving process, even when it comes to the loss of a beloved pet. Understanding these stages—denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance—can help individuals navigate their grief with greater clarity and self-compassion. Remember that pet loss is a unique form of bereavement, and seeking support from friends, family, or professionals who specialize in pet loss can be invaluable on the journey to healing and acceptance.


  1. Kübler-Ross, E. (1969). On Death and Dying. Routledge.

  2. Corr, C. A., Nabe, C. M., & Corr, D. M. (2006). Death and Dying, Life and Living. Cengage Learning.

  3. Rita, M., & Sara, M. (2014). Pet loss and human emotion: A guide to recovery. Taylor & Francis.

bottom of page